Home > Music Interviews > Q & A With… Mick Pyro (Republic Of Loose)

Q & A With… Mick Pyro (Republic Of Loose)

DPIK – Republic of Loose Spoken Interview 2009-03-13

Mick Pyro

Mick Pyro

DPIK caught up with Mick Pyro on the day of the release of new single ‘Awful Cold’ from new album ‘Vol IV: Johnny Pyro and The Dance of Evil’ to hear his opinion on bands fussing over their image, the scenesters and what he really thinks of being called a sell out…’

Where are ye playing tonight?

Mick: We’re playing the RDS.

Are ya looking forward to it?

Mick: Yeah, should be good, loads of teenagers so, I like that. [Laughs]

What with six band members plus guests, does it ever get intense touring on the road?

Mick: Well, we get on pretty all right; it’s good when there are so many of us. It takes the pressure off. When its only two or three people it can get kind of intense but when there’s six people, when’s there’s someone pissing you off, ya can ignore them and basically go off and talk to someone else. We usually get on all right on the road.

Whose are the band’s influences?

Mick: Lots of different music really, all types of music, from The Rolling Stones to Miles Davis, Michael Jackson, Sly & The Family Stone, Rory Gallagher, Taste, all the blues stuff, B.B. King, Muddy Waters and then of course metal as well. Everything really.

Is there any particular band that you hear and think ‘we wanna sound like that’?

Mick: Not really, I mean, Sly & The Family Stone are one of my favourite bands. We don’t sound like that, but I don’t think there are any really contemporary bands out there.

Is there anything change about the Irish music industry?

Mick: Not really, I just wish there was better bands, to be honest. Its an English speaking country, there’s a lot of music and musicians but if you compare it to somewhere like Jamaica, mostly major music that comes out of Ireland is Trad, the rock music is just terrible so. We just need some better bands, there is some better bands coming around now but they’re few and far between. For our population, you’d think they’d be more exciting.

Is there anything about your newfound success, after the release of Aargh! that you didn’t like?

Mick: Well to be honest with ya, going around and being recognised by people who think your crap in general, sometimes it can get a bit hectic, and stuff like that, people giving ya dogs abuse on the street, just sticks and stones.

I think the Irish are a bunch of begrudgers, if they’re calling you shit, you’re good…

Mick: [laughs] Yeah I can understand this, I’d probably be annoying me myself if some gobshite like me came out trying to sing soul I’d be pretty pissed off as well. The only reason I get away with it is cause I’m so great. [laughs]

And modest [laughs]

Mick: Generally its not a big deal, we don’t want to be trap in the same genre as other bands, it’s a small country, with moderate releases and bands.

Lyrically you toned down the language for your second release’s singles. Was that a conscious decision or did it just work out that way? Were you thinking fuck it we’re only shooting ourselves in the foot and putting people off.

Mick: To be honest with ya, the second album ‘Aargh’! Has some of the worst and most controversial language. ‘Na Na Na Na Na Na’ is probably some of the most extreme lyrics I’ve ever done

Was it ‘Break’ that?…

Mick: Ah yeah Break in South Africa, but that was just because that was anti contraception. They were right though. They seemed to get the song a thousand miles away, even if no one here got it. It was just banned because of the country’s huge AIDS problem.

Many people accused you of selling out with sophomore effort Aargh!, what’s your opinion of them / what’s your response?

Mick: I can understand it, especially when you hear a song like ‘Comeback Girl’, its so commercial, I think its too fucking poppy, but at the time we were listening to a lot of pop and R’n’B and that was just the natural progression, I don’t think we were selling out, I think when people listened to the album they realised that, it was just the singles that put people off. I mean I like the first album, but we were just like finding our way really. We would of made a better album if we were better musicians. I’d say if we’d done the first album again with those songs… I think it’s a good album. I like a lot of songs on the first album, I understand why people would be pissed off with the second album and we tried to address that with the third one.

As it goes on, the scene and its music seems almost all about the image and less and less about the music these days. But to you and your band mates, how important is image to you?

Mick: It’s not really that important like, cos if it was… [Laughs] to be honest with ya the reason we’re not that successful around the rest of the country is because of me, because I haven’t spent that much attention on my image. Myself, I’m always as scruffy as fuck, but that’s just me. To us, I mean, I like bands that look exciting but too us it’s not that important.

What’s next for the Loose?

Mick: We’re going to take it easy, we’ve been touring and promoting in Ireland for the last few years and I think we’ve done too much so we’re just going to take a break from touring. We’re going to wait til maybe June, do the odd gig and wait til the summer and do Oxegen and then we’re going to basically get the album out in the States but we’re not going to know til March or April whether that’s going to happen. We’re looking to gig and get over there. Our new single ‘Awful Cold’ is coming out today.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

